You are here

Diversity, Equity, Inclusion & Community Committee

Building a diverse, equitable and inclusive community

We are a standing, representative body with several functions focused on the goal of building a diverse, equitable and inclusive community within Duke's Pratt School of Engineering.

Contact the committee by email at

This committee:

  • Recognizes the importance of diversity, equity and inclusivity to our community
  • Sees diversity, equity, inclusion and community as both processes and outcomes
  • Understands that changes must be customized to their community
  • Desires that we all commit to change together
  • Is dedicated to the idea that you are not alone—we are here for one another

Learn more


  • Provide ongoing revisions to the strategic plan for diversity, equity, and inclusion (DEI) with measurable outcomes as a function of time with a rolling five-year plan
  • Help implement the strategic DEI plan
  • Assess the outcomes of the strategic DEI plan yearly
  • Support the efforts of the Director of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion in Engineering
  • Serve as a liaison among department chairs, other departmental leaders, school leadership and the entire community
  • Serve as a resource for communication between individuals and groups in the Pratt community and the Pratt administration
  • Support departments and other groups on actions and programs that build diversity, equity, inclusion, and community in the school


Contact us »

Nan Jokerst

Nan Jokerst

Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs and Community Engagement

Karis Boyd-Sinkler

Karis Boyd-Sinkler

Director of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion for Engineering

Subcommittee Members


  • Shani Daily (ECE)*
  • Henri Gavin (CEE)
  • Cameron Kim (BME)
  • Heileen Hsu-Kim (CEE)
  • Steve McClelland (EngEn)
  • Guillermo Sapiro (ECE)
  • Gregg Trahey (BME)*
  • Junjie Yao (BME)
  • Becky Simmons (MEMS)
  • Stefan Zauscher (MEMS)


Staff and Post-Doctoral Researchers

  • Angus Bowers (Engineering Master's Programs)*
  • Ben Cooke (At-Large)
  • Angela Chanh (ECE)
  • Crystal Chapman (MEMS)*
  • Alexandria Da Ponte
    (Centers & Institutes)
  • Philip Duhart (Dean’s Office)
  • Ian Williamson (BME Post-Doc)


Graduate Students

  • Hala El-Nahal (At-Large PhD, BME)*
  • Shreyas Hegde (MEMS PhD)*
  • Vardhman Kumar (At-Large PhD, BME)
  • Hengming Li (ECE PhD)
  • Katrina Wilson (BME PhD)


Undergraduate Students



  • Cameron Kim, lead
  • Junjie Yao
  • Ian Williamson
  • Hala El-Nahal
  • Vardhman Kumar
  • Katrina Wilson
  • Mayari Merchant


  • Henri Gavin
  • Alexandra Bussey


  • Angela Chanh, lead
  • Shani Daily
  • Guillermo Sapiro
  • Hengming Li
  • Jamie Kay Wang


  • Becky Simmons, lead
  • Stefan Zauscher
  • Crystal Chapman
  • Shreyas Hegde
  • Ava Ganeshan
  • Elijah Vail

Dean’s Office

How the Committee Works

Executive Committee

  • Made up of the committee co-chairs, who meet twice each month
  • Meets at least once a semester with student affinity groups, including NSBE, SHPE, SWE and oSTEM
  • Meets with Engineering Faculty Council and Engineering Staff Council
  • Hosts a school-wide DEIC Town Hall once each semester


  • Representative of departments and units, and of the diversity of faculty, staff, post-docs and students
  • Meet twice each month
  • Members serve one to three years, with a six-year limit
  • 75 percent of effort focused on issues diversity, equity and inclusion; 25 percent on community-building

Department and Unit Liasions

  • Serve as resource and partners for information, activities and development of customized strategic plans
  • Meet at least twice each semester with department/unit leaders and student leadership