NAE member Blake Wilson, center, is congratulated by Dean Ravi V. Bellamkonda, right, and Senior Associate Dean George Truskey.

You are here

Duke Members of the National Academy of Engineering

Since its founding in 1964, more than two dozen Duke alumni and faculty have been elected to the National Academy of Engineering—considered the greatest professional honor accorded an engineer in the United States.

Since its founding, more than 24 Duke alumni and faculty have been elected to the NAE. At present, 7 are on the Duke Engineering faculty.

Members of the National Academy of Engineering (NAE) are national leaders who have distinguished themselves in industry, research and/or public policy.

At present, seven NAE members are on the Duke Engineering faculty.

NAE citations for our faculty and alumni are inscribed onto the Wall of Recognition in the Fitzpatrick Center—creating a permanent record of achievement and a tangible source of inspiration for all Duke Engineers.


Blake Shaw Wilson

Blake S. Wilson, '74, '15

Adjunct Professor of Surgery, Biomedical Engineering and Electrical & Computer Engineering

For engineering development of the cochlear implant that bestows hearing to individuals with profound deafness.


William A. Hawkins IIIWilliam A. Hawkins III, '76

For leadership in biomedical engineering and translational medicine.



Kristina JohnsonKristina Johnson

Dean of Engineering 1999-2007

For development and deployment of liquid crystal on silicon display technologies, the basis for high speed optoelectronic 3D imaging.


Jennifer L. West

Jennifer West

Fitzpatrick Family University Professor of Engineering

For developments in photothermal and theranostic therapies and bioabsorbed scaffolds for tissue regeneration.


Ingrid Daubechies

Ingrid Daubechies

James B. Duke Professor of Mathematics and Electrical & Computer Engineering

For contributions to the mathematics and applications of wavelets.


Mark R. WiesnerMark R. Wiesner

James L. Meriam Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering

For contributions to membrane technologies for water treatment and understanding of environmental behavior and risk of nanomaterials.


M. Katherine BanksM. Katherine Banks, '89

For contributions to phytoremediation of petroleum contamination, and for leadership in engineering education.



Fred LeeFred Lee, '72, '74

For contributions to high-frequency power conversion and systems integration technologies, education, industry alliances, and technology transfer.



Frank BowmanFrank L. Bowman, '66, '03

For leadership in the design of nuclear-reactor propulsion plants to support the power requirements of evolving combat systems.



Robert L. CookRobert L. Cook, '73

For building the motion picture industry's standard rendering tool.



J. Turner WhittedJ. Turner Whitted, '69, '70

For contributions to computer graphics, notably recursive raytracing.




Robert Calderbank

Robert Calderbank

Charles S. Sydnor Professor of Computer Science

For leadership in communications research, from advances in algebraic coding theory to signal processing for wire-line and wireless modems.

Edward M. Clarke Jr.Edmund M. Clarke, Jr. '68

For contributions to the formal verification of hardware and software correctness.



Douglas M. ChapinDouglas M. Chapin, '62

For improvements in reliability and the prevention and mitigation of core damage accidents in nuclear reactors worldwide.



Joseph A. YuraJoseph A. Yura, '59

For research and educational contributions on bracing and stability for steel structures.



Theodore C. KennedyTheodore C. Kennedy, '52

For leadership and innovation in advancing the nation's construction industry.



Robert M. KoernerRobert M. Koerner, '68

For design and use of geosynthetics in the constructed environment.




Charles H. Townes, '37, '66

For development of the maser and laser.


Henry PetroskiHenry Petroski

Aleksandar S. Vesic Professor of Civil Engineering

For books, articles, and lectures on engineering and the profession that have reached and influenced a wide range of audiences.


John H. Gibbons, '54, '97

For leadership in a broad spectrum of initiatives toward the development and communication of national policies for technological issues.


Charles B. Duke, '59

For providing the theoretical foundations for developments in xerography.


Earl H. DowellEarl H. Dowell

William Holland Hall Professor of Mechanical Engineering and Dean Emeritus

For contributions to aeroelasticity and structural dynamics, which provide continuing insights into the behavior of complex structural systems.


Robert E. Fischell, '51

For pioneering contributions to satellite altitude control and for leadership and innovation in bringing aerospace technology to implantable biomedical devices.


Walter L. Brown, '53

For the discovery of semiconductor surface channels crucial in field effect transistors, and for contributions to ion beam uses in semiconductor diagnostics and processing.

Robert Plonsey

Pfizer-Pratt Professor Emeritus

For the application of electromagnetic field theory to biology, and for distinguished leadership in the emerging profession of biomedical engineering. Read a remembrance of Bob Plonsey


John Cocke, '45, '56, '88

For leadership in high performance computer design and contribution to the field of optimizing compilers.

Robert R. Everett, '42, '92

For pioneering of digital computers and their application to real-time control systems


Frederick P. Brooks. Jr. '53

For contributions to computer system design and the development of academic programs in computer sciences.

Charles H. Holley, '41

For pioneering contributions to the evolution of turbine-generator design.


Lewis M. Branscomb, '45, '71

For leadership in advancing national and international science and technology.

Kristina Johnson, Jennifer West and William A. Hawkins III were elected to the National Academy of Engineering in 2016.