Board of Visitors

Pratt School Board of Visitors standing on outdoor staircase

Our Board of Visitors is a highly-engaged advisory panel whose members include some of Duke Engineering’s most distinguished alumni and friends.

Stacy Klein-Gardner

Serving on the Board of Visitors has been one of the deepest honors of my life.

Stacy S. Klein-Gardner, PhD Chair, Board of Visitors • Class of 1991

Board Members

During their terms, board members provide advice on long-range planning, academic programming and philanthropy to the dean and senior staff.

Stacy Klein-Gardner, PhD


Adjunct Professor of Biomedical Engineering, Vanderbilt University

Class of 1991

Manlio A. Valdés

Vice Chair


Class of 1988
Parent, Class of 2017

T. Richard Alfonsi

Former Executive, Stripe, Twitter, & Google

Class of 1993
Parent, Classes of 2023 and 2025

Rodolfo A. Baquerizo Sr.

Founder and Partner

Parent, Classes of 2015 and 2017

David Nathaniel Buza

Chief Technology Officer, EHE Health

Class of 1995

Lisa A. Carter

Strategic Growth Planning and Leadership Development

Class of 1984

Andrew Carver

CEO, Carver Pump Company

Class of 1996

Fay W. Chang, PhD

Retired Engineer, Google

Class of 1994

Christopher P. Cheng, PhD

President & CEO, Global Science & Technology; Adjunct Professor, Vascular Surgery, Stanford University

Class of 1998

Matthew Q. Christensen

Co-Founder & Managing Partner, Rose Park Advisors

Class of 2002

Jeffrey Citron

Chairman/Director, Vonage

Parent, Classes of 2020 and 2023

Gary I. Cohen, MD, FACP, FASCO

Director Emeritus, Sandra and Malcolm Berman Cancer Institute at Greater Baltimore Medical Center (GBMC)

Class of 1970
Parent, Classes of 1997, 1999 and 2003

James F. Dagley

President, Watts Water Technologies Inc.

Class of 1989

Rahul Vinod Deshmukh, MD

Orthopaedic Surgeon

Class of 1993

Damian V. Dolland

CEO, Multicultural Client Strategy Group, Morgan Stanley

Class of 1998

Audrei Drummond

Senior Staff Engineer, Webflow

Class of 2008

David W. Erdman

Erdman Law PLLC

Class of 1971

Holly M. Espy

Anchor/Reporter, WTTG-TV

Class of 1993

Eric M. Free

Chief Growth Officer, Flexera Software

Class of 1991, Class of 1998

Ruby Grewal

Chief Strategy Officer, Proteovant Therapeutics

Class of 1988, Class of 1993

James K. Henry Jr., PhD

Managing Partner, McKinsey & Company

Class of 1996, Class of 1999

Ram M. Jagannath

Senior Managing Director, Blackstone

Class of 1998

Brandee Krzanich

Founder/CEO, Bezel Ventures LLC

Parent, Class of 2024

Deborah Lau Liu


Class of 1998

Court V. Lorenzini

CEO, MetaBrite, Inc.

Class of 1987
Parent, Class of 2019

Valecia D. Maclin

General Manager, Engineering, Customer Security & Trust, Microsoft Corp.

Class of 1992

John J. Mastrototaro, PhD

CEO, Movano Inc.

Class of 1984, Class of 1989
Parent, Class of 2020

Stacey W. McConnell, Esq.

Partner and Chair, Estate Planning and Trusts Department, Lamb McErlane PC

Class of 1977
Parent, Classes of 2016 and 2020

Leslie Voorhees Means


Class of 2008

Abraham Ng’hwani

CEO and Founder, Abranova Real Estate Inc.; CEO, Abranova Electric

Class of 2016

Graham A. Orriss

CEO, SV Labs | Smith & Vandiver

Class of 1993
Parent, Class of 2023

Miles R. Palmer, PhD

Founder, 8 Rivers Capital and NET Power


Stacy L. Pineles, MD

Associate Professor of Ophthalmology and Residency Program Director, Stein Eye Institute, David Geffen School of Medicine, UCLA

Class of 2000

Scott C. Raney

Managing Director, Redpoint Ventures

Class of 1991
Parent, Class of 2026

Steven C. Rosner

Retired Managing Director and Partner, L.E.K. Consulting, Boston Office

Class of 1983
Parent, Class of 2018

Joseph A. Saldutti Jr.

Managing Director, Gridiron Capital

Class of 1988
Parent, Classes of 2020 and 2024

Michael Salvino

Chairman, President and CEO, DXC Technology

Parent, Class of 2020

John A. Sartor

President & CEO, Paulus, Sokolowski & Sartor LLC

Class of 1992

Eric J. Schiffer

Managing Partner, Gratitude Ventures; Former CEO, 99 Cents Only Stores

Class of 1983
Parent, Class of 2023

Valerie N. Schimel

Founder/CEO, Munchkin Fun; President, Al & Jane Nahmad Family Foundation

Class of 2000

Barry E. Schneirov

Vice President, Goldman Sachs & Co.

Class of 1985
Parent, Class of 2017

Jill A. Schreifer

Founder and CEO, The Schreifer Group

Class of 1997

Robert L. Seelig

EVP & General Counsel, White Mountains Insurance Group Ltd.

Class of 1990, Class of 1991
Parent, Classes of 2024 and 2026

Joshua Brant Skudlarick

Director, Construction Management, ArcLight Capital Partners

Class of 1996

Armando A. Tabernilla

Vice President & General Counsel, Florida Crystals Corporation

Class of 1981
Parent, Class of 2019

Anna Tye

Partner, Carlyle Group

Class of 2003

Alyssa Fanelli Varadhan

Investor/advisor in early-stage companies

Class of 2002

Alan L. Whitehurst

Principal and Trial Lawyer, McKool Smith

Class of 1994, Class of 1997
Parent, Class of 2026

Deepak Yadav

Founder and CEO, Yadu Corporation

Parent, Class of 2026

Nicholas Zaldastani

Venture capitalist, Zaldastani Ventures

Class of 1979
Parent, Classes of 2018 and 2020

Janis Rahlaender

Just as valuable as visiting Duke twice a year is engaging with the other members, who are leaders in their fields.

Janis J. Rehlaender Chair Emeritus, Board of Visitors • Class of 1977

Members Emeriti

Michael J. Bingle

Class of 1994; Parent, Class of 2025
Managing Partner, Silver Lake Group

Dan Dickinson

Class of 1983; Parent, Classes of 2015 and 2019
Co-Founder and Managing Partner, HCI Equity Partners

Suzanne M. Gregory

Class of 1987; Parent, Class of 2018
Retired Executive Director, Office of General Counsel, Merck & Company Inc.

George N. Mattson II

Class of 1987; Parent, Class of 2016
President, Star Mountain Capital LLC

Thomas A. Natelli

Class of 1982; Parent, Class of 2010
President & CEO, Natelli Communities

Janis J. Rehlaender

Class of 1977; Parent, Classes of 2007, 2009 and 2012
Retired Director of Corporate Planning, Baxter International; Chairman, Darien, Conn., Board of Education

Jerry C. Wilkinson

Class of 1967; Parent, Classes of 1998, 2000 and 2003
Chairman, The Wilkinson Companies