NAE member Blake Wilson, center, is congratulated by Dean Ravi V. Bellamkonda, right, and Senior Associate Dean George Truskey.

Duke Engineering Members of the National Academy of Engineering

Since its creation in 1964, more than two dozen Duke Engineering alumni and faculty have been elected to the National Academy of Engineering – receiving perhaps the greatest professional honor accorded an engineer in the United States.

NAE membership is perhaps the greatest professional honor for an engineer in the U.S.

Members of the National Academy of Engineering (NAE) have distinguished themselves in business, academic management and technical positions, as university faculty, and as leaders in government and industry.

When a Duke Engineer is made a member of the academy, her or his name and citation are added to the Wall of Recognition in the Fitzpatrick Center – creating a permanent record of achievement, and a tangible source of inspiration for future generations of Duke Engineers.


Blake S. Wilson, '74, '15, Adjunct Professor of Surgery, Biomedical Engineering and Electrical & Computer Engineering
For engineering development of the cochlear implant that bestows hearing to individuals with profound deafness.


William A. Hawkins III, '76
For leadership in biomedical engineering and translational medicine.

Kristina Johnson, Dean of Engineering 1999-2007
For development and deployment of liquid crystal on silicon display technologies, the basis for high speed optoelectronic 3D imaging.

Jennifer West, Fitzpatrick Family University Professor of Engineering
For developments in photothermal and theranostic therapies and bioabsorbed scaffolds for tissue regeneration.


Ingrid Daubechies, James B. Duke Professor of Mathematics
For contributions to the mathematics and applications of wavelets.

Mark R. Wiesner, James L. Meriam Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering
For contributions to membrane technologies for water treatment and understanding of environmental behavior and risk of nanomaterials.


Fred Lee, '72, '74
For contributions to high-frequency power conversion and systems integration technologies, education, industry alliances, and technology transfer.


Frank L. Bowman, '66, '03
For leadership in the design of nuclear-reactor propulsion plants to support the power requirements of evolving combat systems.

Robert L. Cook, '73
For building the motion picture industry's standard rendering tool.

J. Turner Witted, '69, '70
For contributions to computer graphics, notably recursive raytracing.


Robert Calderbank, Charles S. Sydnor Professor of Computer Science
For leadership in communications research, from advances in algebraic coding theory to signal processing for wire-line and wireless modems.

Edmund M. Clarke, Jr. '68
For contributions to the formal verification of hardware and software correctness.


Douglas M. Chapin, '62
For improvements in reliability and the prevention and mitigation of core damage accidents in nuclear reactors worldwide.


Joseph A. Yura, '59
For research and educational contributions on bracing and stability for steel structures.


Theodore C. Kennedy, '52
For leadership and innovation in advancing the nation's construction industry.


Robert M. Koerner, '68
For design and use of geosynthetics in the constructed environment.


Charles H. Townes, '37, '66
For development of the maser and laser.


Henry Petroski, Aleksandar S. Vesic Professor of Civil Engineering
For books, articles, and lectures on engineering and the profession that have reached and influenced a wide range of audiences.


John H. Gibbons, '54, '97
For leadership in a broad spectrum of initiatives toward the development and communication of national policies for technological issues.


Charles B. Duke, '59
For providing the theoretical foundations for developments in xerography.

Earl H. Dowell, William Holland Hall Professor of Mechanical Engineering and Dean Emeritus
For contributions to aeroelasticity and structural dynamics, which provide continuing insights into the behavior of complex structural systems.


Robert E. Fischell, '51
For pioneering contributions to satellite altitude control and for leadership and innovation in bringing aerospace technology to implantable biomedical devices.


Walter L. Brown, '53
For the discovery of semiconductor surface channels crucial in field effect transistors, and for contributions to ion beam uses in semiconductor diagnostics and processing.

Robert Plonsey, Pfizer-Pratt Professor Emeritus
For the application of electromagnetic field theory to biology, and for distinguished leadership in the emerging profession of biomedical engineering. Read a remembrance of Bob Plonsey.


John Cocke, '45, '56, '88
For leadership in high performance computer design and contribution to the field of optimizing compilers.

Robert R. Everett, '42, '92
For pioneering of digital computer and their application to real time control systems


Frederick P. Brooks. Jr. '53
For contributions to computer system design and the development of academic programs in computer sciences.

Charles H. Holley, '41
For pioneering contributions to the evolution of turbine-generator design.


Lewis M. Branscomb, '45, '71
For leadership in advancing national and international science and technology.

Kristina Johnson, Jennifer West and William A. Hawkins III were elected to the National Academy of Engineering in 2016.