You are here

Three Duke Engineers Named Fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science

Ravi Bellamkonda, Ashutosh Chilkoti and Tony Huang are among seven Duke faculty to join AAAS

Seven members of the Duke University faculty have been named Fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), including three faculty from the Pratt School of Engineering. Election as an AAAS Fellow is an honor bestowed upon AAAS members by their peers.

Duke’s 2020 inductees are among 443 new fellows this year who are being recognized for scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications. Inductees from Duke Engineering include:

Ravi Bellamkonda, Ph.D., Vinik Dean of Engineering and Professor of Biomedical Engineering. Bellamkonda was recognized for his contributions to neural engineering through the use of materials for nerve and spinal cord repair and brain tumor therapies, and for innovations in engineering education.  

Ashutosh Chilkoti, Ph.D., Alan L. Kaganov Professor and Chair of Biomedical Engineering. Chilkoti was recognized for his distinguished contributions to field of biomedical engineering, particularly in the development of novel methods to deliver biotherapeutics and develop surfaces that resist protein interactions.

Tony Huang, Ph.D., William Bevan Professor of Mechanical Engineering and Mechanical Science. Huang was recognized for his distinguished contributions to the field of acoustofluidics, particularly for developing acoustic tweezers that are capable of precisely manipulating bioparticles in complex fluids.

View the original announcement on Duke Today to see the full list of inductees from Duke University.

The new fellows will be presented with an official certificate and a gold and blue (representing science and engineering, respectively) rosette pin on February 15 during the 2020 AAAS Annual Meeting in Seattle.