Duke Awards Degrees to 224 Pratt Students

One hundred eighty Pratt School of Engineering students were awarded Bachelor of Science degrees, 15 received Master of Engineering Management degrees and 29 were awarded Ph.D.s May 11 following Duke University’s annual commencement exercises in Wallace Wade Stadium.

In all, there were 2,856 May graduates at the university. Including those who finished in September and December, the total number of degrees awarded was 3,558. Of the Pratt students receiving bachelor’s degrees, six finished last September and 10 in December. Five of the Ph.D. students completed their work in December and nine in September.

Laryngitis kept UN Secretary-General Kofi Annan from addressing the graduates, but it didn’t prevent the students from hearing Annan’s message that people the world over are "being influenced by the same tides of change." Duke President Nannerl O. Keohane read portions of his speech to the graduates.

Annan was awarded an honorary degree, as were four others -- U.S. Navy Admiral Frank L. "Skip" Bowman, a member of Pratt’s Board of Visitors; artist, author and feminist Judy Chicago; physician-scientist Dr. Richard D. Klausner and dance leader Charles L. Reinhart.

Twelve of Pratt’s Ph.D. students received their doctorates in biomedical engineering, two in civil and environmental engineering, eight in electrical and computer engineering and seven in mechanical engineering and materials science.

Thirty of the B.S.E. students graduated with departmental distinction, including Vadim Steven Polikov, of Baltimore, who finished with a 4.0 GPA.

Polikov also won The Otto Meier, Jr. Tau Beta Pi Award and The Walter J. Seeley Scholastic Award. He and Alicia Amin Mecklai, of Spring, Texas,.won The da Vinci Award in Biomedical Engineering.

Annie Elizabeth Adams, of Scarsdale, N.Y.; Darin Howard Buxbaum, of Longwood, Fla.; Michael Benjamin Marion, of Oklahoma City; Deborah Ann Seibold, of Medford, N.J.; and Kyle Christopher Smith, of Fort Wayne, Ind., won the William J. Griffith University Service Award .

Smith and Joseph George Baltz Jr., of Pocahontas, Ark., won The Helmholtz Award.

Seibold also won The William Brewster Snow Environmental Engineering Award.

Anu Reema Lamba, of Orland Park, Ill., won The Theo C. Pilkington Award.

Elizabeth Alice Ralston, of Charlotte, was awarded both The American Society of Civil Engineers Prize and The Eric I. Pas Award.

The Aubrey E. Palmer Award went to Joanna Elizabeth Hingle, of Alexandria, Va., and Alissa Jean Jones, of Brooklyn, N.Y.

Vivek Siddharth Munshi, of New Orleans, won The George Sherrerd III Memorial Award in Electrical Engineering.

Munshi and Mark Daniel Krasniewski, of Charlotte, won The Charles Seager Memorial Award.

Kalyan C. Vepuri, of Newtown, Pa., was awarded The David Randall Fuller Prize.

The Pi Tau Sigma Scholarship Award in Mechanical Engineering went to Scott Douglas Kiffer, of Strongsville, Ohio.

And the The Mechanical Engineering and Materials Science Faculty Award went to Justin Warren Jaworski, of Tampa, Fla.

Those graduating with distinction in Biomedical Engineering were Baltz; Andrew Serghios Barbas, of Houston; Jamie Michelle Bergen, of Corvallis, Ore.; Kenneth William Borrelli, of Reston, Va.; Chiu-Yu Chen, of Edgewood, Ky.; David Yung-Ping Chong, of Wheaton, Ill.; David Steven DiPietro, of Levittown, N.Y.; Anthony Robert Geonnotti III, of Langhorne, Pa.; Nitin Kumar Gupta, Duluth, Ga.; Derek Kato Juang, of Poquoson, Va.; Robert Timothy Kazmierski, of Troy, Mich.,; Benjamin James Lebow, of Thousand Oaks, Calif.; Victor Suva-Viola Mangona, of Macomb, Mich.; Samer Rami Melhem., of Pittsburgh, Pa.; Jared M. Moore, of Weddington, N.C.; Daniel Adam Mordes, of Stuart, Fla.; Polikov; Andrew Whitman Schultz, of Tampa; Smith; Irene Tseng, of Lawrenceville, N.J.; and Gregory Moore Williams, of Midlothian, Va.. In addition, Barbas, Bergen, Gupta, Mordes, and Williams won the Howard G. Clark Award.

Those graduating with distinction in Civil Engineering were Jones and Seibold.

Graduating with distinction in Electrical Engineering were Max David Cohen, of Baltimore; Krasniewski; David Hall Logan, of Arlington, Va.; Munshi and Colin Douglas Scott, of Sebastian, Fla.

Graduating with distinction in Mechanical Engineering were Jaworski; Jonathan Leighton Shih, of Buffalo Grove, Ill.; and Mausumi Natalie Syamal, of West Bloomfield, Mich.